Feed on

All meetings will be held on Thursday, June 11, 2015 in Columbus, Ohio. If you are interested in addressing a committee please contact Steven C. Hollon, Executive Director of the Ohio Constitutional Modernization Commission at 614.644.2022.

9:30 a.m.
Bill of Rights and Voting Committee – Room 018 of the Ohio StatehousePossible adoption of recommendations concerning  Article I, Section 13 (Quartering of Troops) and  Article I, Section 17 (No Hereditary Privileges).  Discussion of elimination of the phrase “idiot, or insane person” from Article V, Section 6 and discussion regarding excluding from voting those convicted of a felony (Article V, Section 4).

11 a.m.
Constitutional Revision and Updating Committee
– Room 018 of the Ohio Statehouse.  Discussion of the Special Interest Amendment – a constitutional amendment limiting initiative petitions that create special interests.
1:30  p.m.

Ohio Constitutional Modernization Commission – South Meeting Rooms B & C, 31st Floor of the Riffe Center for Government and the Arts. Reports and Recommendations will be heard on the possible adoption of committee recommendations regarding  Article I, Section 2 (Right to Alter, Reform, or Abolish Government),  Article I, Section 3 (Right to Assemble) and Article I, Section 4 (Bearing Arms; Standing Armies; Military Power).

2:30  p.m.

Legislative Branch and Executive Branch Committee – 2:30 p.m. in in South Meeting Rooms B & C, 31st Floor of the Riffe Center for Government and the Arts.  Presentation:  HJR2 – Congressional Redistricting, by Ann Henkener, League of Women Voters of Ohio and Richard Gunther, Professor Emeritus, Ohio State University. Discussion regarding  HJR2 – Congressional Redistricting and Sub. SJR1 – Public Office Compensation Commission.

Leave a Reply