Feed on

If you are interested in addressing a committee or the Commission, please contact Steven C. Hollon, Executive Director of the Ohio Constitutional Modernization Commission at 614.644.2022.

The following meetings will take place in Columbus, Ohio on Thursday, April 9, 2015:

9:30 a.m.

Legislative Branch and Executive Branch Committee – Room 018 of the Ohio Statehouse.  Presentation:  Rep. Kathleen Clyde, Ohio House of Representatives, “House Joint Resolution 2 – Congressional Redistricting”.  Reports and recommendations:  Article II, Section 2 (Election and Term Limits State Legislators) – Option One and Option Two (possible adoption).  Discussion of Senate Joint Resolution 1 – Public Office Compensation Commission.

11:00 a.m.

Bill of Rights and Voting Committee – Room 017 of the Ohio Statehouse.  Reports and recommendations regarding:  Article I, Section 13 (Quartering of Troops), Article I, Section 17 (No Hereditary Privileges).  Presentation: Steven C. Hollon, Executive Director, “Review of Proposals Regarding Article V, Section 6 (Idiots and Insane Persons)”.  Discussion regarding Article V, Section 6 (Idiots and Insane Persons) and Article V, Section 4 (Felon Disenfranchisement).

12:30 p.m.

Coordinating CommitteeRoom 018 of the Ohio Statehouse. Presentations:  (1) Steven C. Hollon, Executive Director: “Proposed Amendment to Article XV – Public Resources for Collection of Labor Dues” and “Proposed Amendment to Article XV – Work Place Freedom”.

 1:30 p.m.

Ohio Constitutional Modernization Commission:South Meeting Rooms B & C, 31st Floor of the Riffe Center for Government and the Arts.  Consideration and possible adoption of:  repealing Article IV, Section 19 (Courts of Conciliation) and Article IV, Section 22 (Supreme Court Commission).  First presentation regarding Article I, Section 2 (Right to Alter, Reform, or Abolish Government, and Repeal Special Privileges), Section 3 (Right to Assemble), and Section 4 (Right to Bear Arms). (The committee will most likely propose to retain these sections as they are currently written).

2:30 p.m.

Constitutional Revision and Updating Committee South Meeting Rooms B & C, 31st Floor of the Riffe Center for Government and the Arts.  Presentations:  (1) Steven H. Steinglass, OCMC Senior Policy Analyst: “Subject Matter Limitations on the Constitutional Initiative”; (2) Steven C. Hollon, Executive Director and Shari L. O’Neill, Counsel to the Commision: “NCSL Report on the Initiative and Referendum in the 21st Century”.


Leave a Reply